The titles of the individual sentences bear the names of well-known literary works. It is a composer’s gratitude to his favorite books and their authors for numerous inspirations and for immersing into foreign emotional worlds, which are now transformed into music themselves.


I Siddhartha (Hermann Hesse)
II White Nights (Fyodor Dostoyevski)
III The Metamorphosis (Franz Kafka)
IV The Stranger (Albert Camus)


S. (P. · hg. Beck. · Tamb. · Bong. · Darabukka · Tomt. · Rührtr. · gr. Tr. · Barchimes · Waterphone [verstärkt, mit Bogen und Sticks]) (2 Spieler) – Str.


  • Tags: Prelude
  • Opus No: 63
  • Duration: 25 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2015
  • Commissioned by: Bruckner Orchester Linz
  • Word Premiere Date: November 30, 2015
  • World Premiere Location: Linz (A) Brucknerhaus, Großer Saal - Raschèr Saxophone Quartet · Conductor: Dennis Russell Davies · Bruckner Orchester Linz
  • YouTube
  • Schott Music