In December 2015 we, the Raschèr Saxophone Quartet, performed the world premiere of Fazıl Say’s Prèludes for saxophone quartet, string orchestra and percussion, with the Bruckner Orchestra Linz in the Golden Hall of the Musikverein in Vienna, conducted by Dennis Russell Davies. In preperation for this premiere, I studied Fazıl Say’s compositional oeuvre.
The sting quartet Divorce from 2010 convinced me with its expressiveness; moreover, I instantly heard a version for four saxophones resounding within me.
What followed was a process of translating the original version to saxophone quartet. Not just an arrangement, but rather a version as if the composer himself had written for saxophone quartet. I believe it is a work that many quartets and listeners will find joy and enthusiasm in.
Andreas van Zoelen


I Allegro maestoso
II Andante
III Presto


  • Tags: Quartet
  • Opus No: 29a
  • Duration: 16 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2010
  • Word Premiere Date: October 9, 2020
  • World Premiere Location: Lörrach (G) Burghof - Raschèr Saxophone Quartet
  • Arranged by: Andreas van Zoelen
  • Arranged Year: 2017
  • YouTube
  • Schott Music