Concerto for 2 trumpets and orchestra


The solo instruments in Fazıl Say’s virtuoso Concerto for 2 trumpets and orchestra dazzle with their consummate display of technical and tonal feats. All instruments of the trumpet family take part in this work ranging from the bass trumpet and flugelhorn up to the piccolo trumpet. The opening movement is characterised by rhythmically free invocations on the solo instruments. In the second movement, passages of slow irregular rhythms frame an extreme Presto dominated by the piccolo trumpets. Say’s powerful finale is devoted to the terror attack at Ankara central station which took place in 2015; here the composer references themes from his piano sonata In memoriam, 10.10.2015.


I Introduction, Allegro
II Andante moderato, misterioso
III Allegro assai, “in memoriam”


Picc. · 2 · 2 · 2 · Kfg. – 2 · 0 · 1 · 0 – S. (P. · Vibr. · Tomt. · gr. Tr. · Cong. · Bong. · Clav. · Barchimes · Guiro) (3 Spieler) – Hfe. – Str.



  • Tags: Concerto
  • Opus No: 104
  • Duration: 26 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2022
  • Commissioned by: Müpa Budapest – Palace of Arts as well as by hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, Prague Symphony Orchestra, NFM Wrocław Philharmonic, Hong Kong Sinfonietta and Beethoven Orchester Bonn
  • Word Premiere Date: May 13, 2023
  • World Premiere Location: Budapest (H) MÜPA - Gábor Boldoczki, trumpet; Sergei Nakariakov, trumpet · Conductor: Andrey Boreyko · Symfonický orchestr hl. m. Prahy FOK (Prague Symphony Orchestra)
  • Schott Music