In 2011, the International Violin Competition ‘Henri Marteau’ for the first time commissioned a composer to write the compulsory piece for the competition. This composer was Fazıl Say who forms a meanwhile legendary duo with the violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaya. In ‘Cleopatra’ for solo violin, Say deals with Henri Marteau’s Caprice No. 10, ‘Intermezzo’, as an homage to him. The result is a violinistically demanding piece which makes use of the modern playing techniques of the violin and at the same time includes Arabian sounds in varied rhythmic patterns.



  • Tags: Solo
  • Opus No: 34
  • Duration: 6 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2010
  • Commissioned by: 4. Internationalen Violinwettbewerbs Henri Marteau
  • Word Premiere Date: May 30, 2011
  • World Premiere Location: Hof (G) "Haus Marteau 4. Internationaler Violinwettbewerb Henri Marteau" - Participants of the competition
  • YouTube
  • Spotify
  • Schott Music