As the titles of the movements of the work already suggest, the first part Blue Water is on the seas, second part Black Water revolves around the nights and lakes, whereas the third part Green Water is based on rivers.

Blue Water is a meditative attempt to describe the vast infinite blue water of the sea. It is a joyful music, a piece describing the impressions we have by the cheerful movements of the sea, including all the songs created by the rises, silences and tides of the blue waters, the exotic sounds, and the simple delight we feel by the purity of the sea and the sky.

Black Water is undoubtedly what takes place around a small lake and its surroundings. It all happens at night. The sounds of frogs and birds may be heard. It is a piece written for the lake, silence, the moon and the moonlight. Making weird sounds, the instruments daxophone and waterphone add surprise to the atmosphere. The faster part coming on the mid way is similar to a fairy’s dance…

The third movement Green Water resembles the infinite flow of a river. With the vision of the green water running on and on with a natural flow, we remember Heraklitos’ words, saying: ‘The river is the same river ever, but the water never stays the same.’ The Vibra Tone instruments, used by the members of the orchestra, are like vibrating tones coming from all corners. At the end of this part, the members of the orchestra whisper the following words, each in their own language: ‘Water gives life. Living comes from water and returns to water in the end. Water means life. Life originates from water.’ Fazıl Say


I Blue Water (Mavi Su)
II Black Water (Kara Su)
III Green Water (Yeşil Su)


Picc. · 1 · Altfl. (auch Bassfl.) · 2 · Engl. Hr. · 2 (2. auch Bassklar.) · 2 (2. auch Kfg.) – 4 · 3 · 2 · 1 – P. S. (I: Vibr. · Tenortr. · gr. Tr. · Frosch*; II: Xyl. · HAPI Drum* [A, H, C, D] · HAPI UFO Drum* [D, G, A]· Log Drum [A, H, C, D]· Clav.; III: Vibratones · Log Drum · 2 Cong. · Guiro · Waterphone* [mit Cello-Bogen gestrichen, Modell: Mega Bass, 16″/40,64 cm] · Woodbl.; IV: Marimba · 2 Bong. · Guiro · Bar Chimes · Seagull Pipe · Woodbl. · Daxophon* [mit Cello-Bogen gestrichen]; V: Marimba · Vibratones · Trgl. · Tamb. · Guiro · Bar Chimes · Ocean Waves [Modell: Remo, 22″] · Dove Pipe*) (5 Spieler) – Hfe. · Cel. – Str. (12 · 10 · 8 · 8 · 4) (Streicher spielen auch Afro-Amazon River Waves und Vibratones)
*Diese Instrumente sollten ggf. verstärkt werden. / These instruments should be amplified, if necessary.


  • Tags: Concerto
  • Opus No: 45
  • Duration: 29 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2012
  • Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und des Menuhin Festivals Gstaad
  • Word Premiere Date: August 18, 2013
  • World Premiere Location: Stolpe (D) - Gutshaus Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 2013 - Fazıl Say, Piano · Conductor: Kristjan Järvi · Gstaad Festival Orchestra
  • YouTube
  • Schott Music