The Moving Mansion (Hommage à Atatürk),

Yürüyen Köşk
(The Moving Mansion)
Art of Piano No. 4 | Hommage à Atatürk
Concert rhapsody for piano


Yürüyen Köşk traces a well-known episode that shows Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, the founder of modern Turkey, as a progressive nature lover: In 1930, to save a plane tree, he had a house moved several meters. The work is also available with chamber orchestra accompaniment, as a solo piano piece and as a piano quintet.


I Enlightenment
II Struggle against Darkness
III Believing in Live
IV Plane Tree




  • Tags: Concerto
  • Opus No: 72
  • Duration: 15 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2017
  • Commissioned by: Festival du Jura
  • Word Premiere Date: March 7, 2019
  • World Premiere Location: Milano (I) Auditorium Fondazione Cariplo - Fazıl Say, piano · Conductor: Fazıl Say · Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi
  • YouTube
  • Spotify
  • Schott Music