Suite, consisting of six short pieces for alto saxophone and piano, is a virtuoso work for this duo. I composed my Suite in 2014 in commission of the legendary saxophone virtuoso Mr. Sugawa with whom I played the world premiere in Tokyo in 2014. The pieces are very much inspired by Turkish music, rhythms, dances, folklore… and composed in modal and sometimes atonal character. Fazıl Say


I Allegro
II Andante
III Presto
IV “Ironic”
V Andantino, quasi lullaby
VI Finale. Presto



  • Opus No: 55
  • Duration: 14 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2014
  • Commissioned by: N. Sugawa
  • Word Premiere Date: October 16, 2014
  • World Premiere Location: Tokyo (J) Opera City Concert Hall - Fazıl Say, piano; Nobuya Sugawa, saxophone
  • YouTube
  • Schott Music