Sait Faik


With this stage work, Fazıl Say commemorates the 60th anniversary of the death of the popular Turkish author Sait Faik. His short story focuses on Trifon, a boy who loves the sea more than anything else. His greatest pride and joy is a small boat he has constructed himself with the name of his grandfather Stelyanos Hrisopulos painted in gold letters. However, when he launches his boat, the village children sink it. Say has scored his composition for a small ensemble including traditional Turkish instruments.


I (without movement title)
II Allegro Moderato
III Lento dramatico
IV Andantino Amabile
V Allegro Furioso
VI Moderato Cantabile
VII Burgazada Şarkısı
VIII (without movement title)
IX Andante Tranquillo
X Andante Moderato · Allegro Assai
XI Allegro Assai
XII (without movement title)


Kemençe · Kanun – S. (HAPI UFO Drum · Bendir · Kudüm · gr. Tr. · Ocean Waves) (1 Spieler) – Klav. – 2 Vl. · Va. · Vc.


  • Opus No: 51
  • Duration: 60 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2014
  • Commissioned by: Istanbul Music Festival and the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts (IKSV)
  • Word Premiere Date: June 25, 2014
  • World Premiere Location: Istanbul (T) Burgazada Square - "Fazıl Say, piano; Borusan Quartet; Derya Türkkan, kemençe; Hakan Güngör, kanun; Aykut Köselerli, percussion; Birsen Tezer, mezzo soprano; Serenad Bağcan, mezzo soprano; Demet Evgar, narrator 1; Esra Bezen Bilgin, narrator 2; Songül Öden, narrator 3 Original staging: Özen Yula (scenic)"
  • YouTube
  • Schott Music