Gezi Park 2


The four-movement piano sonata is the second part of a three-part cycle: a compositional reflection of the civil war-like events in Istanbul’s Gezi Park in the spring of 2013, of the slogans filling the air and of the spirit of these days.


I İstanbul Sokaklarında Direniş Geceleri (Nights of resistance on the streets of Istanbul)
II Gaz Bulutunun Sessizliği (The silence of the gas cloud)
III Berkin Elvan (Suçsuz Çocuk Berkin Elvan’in Öldürülmesi Üzerine) (On the killing of the innocent child Berkin Elvan)
IV Umut Hep Yüreğimizdedir (Hope is always in our hearts)


  • Tags: Solo,Sonata
  • Opus No: 52
  • Duration: 19 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2014
  • Commissioned by: Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft
  • Word Premiere Date: May 9, 2014
  • World Premiere Location: Wien (A) Konzerthaus - Fazıl Say, Klavier
  • YouTube
  • Spotify
  • Schott Music