Alevi Fathers at the Raki Table


for Flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon

In four short movements following each other ‘attacca’, the Turkish composer and pianist Fazıl Say humorously describes an everyday scene in an Anatolian village: Alevi fathers drinking raki at a well-laid table. An andantino ritornello in irregular metres returning in all movements provides the thematic context of an eventful action.


I Andantino tranquillo
Presto fantastico
II Andante tranquillo
III Andantino
IV Presto


  • Tags: Quintet
  • Opus No: 35
  • Duration: 14 minutes
  • Year of Composition: 2011
  • Commissioned by: Konzerthauses Berlin
  • Word Premiere Date: April 1, 2011
  • World Premiere Location: Berlin (G) Konzerthaus - Pirmin Grehl, Flute; Szilvia Pápai, Oboe; Ralf Forster, Clarinet; Premysl Vojta, Horn; Michael von Schönermark, Bassoon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify
  • Schott Music